Portsmouth defender defends his tackle that put Lucas Torreira on crutches

Portsmouth defender James Bolton reckons his tackle on Lucas Torreira was a great one.

Despite taking him out of the game, Portsmouth defender, James Bolton, insists that his tackle on Lucas Torreira was a fair one.

The defender tackled the Uruguayan in the first half of last night’s FA Cup clash and Arsenal had to replace him as he couldn’t continue the match.

After the game, Torreira was seen moving around on crutches, yet Bolton believes that his tackle was a fair one.

Arsenal beat the former FA Cup winners 2-0 to reach the next round, but the win came at the cost of Torreira.

The tackle was deemed to be fair by referee Mike Dean, and the defender at the centre of the controversial tackle has defended himself.

He added, as quoted by Football Londonthat he never regretted making the tackle and proceeded to wish the Arsenal star a speedy recovery.

“It was a great tackle,” Bolton said after the final whistle.

“I timed it really well but it’s never nice to see someone down. I hope he’s okay.”

After the game, Mikel Arteta claimed that it was too early to determine the extent of the injury and how long the midfielder would be out of action.

If Torreira is ruled out for any significant length of time it would be a huge blow for Arteta, he is going to need as much depth as possible as the Gunners continue to fight on two fronts as the season enters its end game.

7 Comments

  1. Gunnerphilic says:

    Why would anyone listen to a dim wit like this?

    I hope he gets taken out in a similar fashion in the next match by a thug like himself, and get a fracture or two for good measure.

    These are the Ryan Shawcross of English football who never become much and are determined to hack other fellow profesionals to pieces while being urged on by dim wit referees like Mike Dean.

    Someone should give Dean such a tackle one of these days in spite of not being a player. By the time he spends a year or two in rehab, he will appreciate what people go thru when they get mown down like that…

  2. 350oz says:

    … and Guenduozi got a yellow for placing the ball down.
    What an irony 😂

  3. ozziegunner says:

    It is always unfortunate when someone is injured like Torreira in what is a contact sport.
    Could someone please explain where the illegality was under the laws of football in Bolton’s tackle?

  4. Trudeau says:

    Law 12 – careless, reckless or excessive force. Happy to debate which one it was but don’t see how one can claim it was a “great tackle”.

    1. ozziegunner says:

      Trudeau, which one should Dean have selected given it is a contact sport, he did not mistime the tackle and took the ball and there appears no malicious intent?

      1. ozziegunner says:

        The referee didn’t agree; unfortunately in contact sport these things happen. There has been no outrage in the media.

  5. Trudeau says:

    Malicious intent isn’t the issue for me. Which bit did he time we’ll? The bit where he got the ball first or the bit where his scissor follow through inevitably cleaned Torreira out? Careless, reckless, excessive force. Take your pick.

Comments are closed

Top Blog Sponsors
JustArsenal Top Ten UK Blogs